News Archive



On a wet and windy day at a packed Musselburgh Racecourse 16 year old Cameron Tindle, Edinburgh AC clinched a dramatic victory in the final of the 146th New Year Sprint.

The big crowd witnessed some excellent running with very little seperating the 4 x-ties winners on time.

In the first of the 4 ties, the previous days 90 metres winner Eoin Lowther,Jedburgh took the win by 100th of a second in 11.95s from Fife challenger Ewan Dyer, Pitreavie AC, the latter made the final as a fastest loser as did 3rd placed backmarker Morro Bajo, Edinburgh AC.

The second of the x-ties had only 4 runners owing to the withdrawel of former winner Cumbie Bowers who sustained an injury the previous day while running in the 110m Invitation race, victory went to 16 year old Ryan Houten, Cadrona in 11.97s, again it was a close finish with runner up Craig Sowerby from Seaton AC also qualifying in 12.04s.

When Stacey Downie, Edinburgh AC followed up her previous day's heat win with another scintillating run to win X-tie 3 the dream of the first ever female winner of the famous race was still on, Downie stopped the clock at the same time as Houten in the previous heat.

All eyes in the final x-tie were on Cameron Tindle of whom the bookies had installed as the pre x-ties favourite and he didn't let his supporters down by charging through the field from the 5 metres mark to win in 11.87 seconds, Jazmine Tomlinson, TLJT who finished in 5th place in last years final booked the 8th and final place in this years final going through as a fastest loser in 12.11s.

When the runners lined up for the final the rain was at it's heaviest and the wind at it's strongest, Downie couldn't maintain the form of her previous two runs and couldn't get to front marker Tomlinson who for a second looked like she may be the first ever female winner, in the dying embers of the race however she was overhauled by Houten who had victory in his sight only to be collared in the shadow of the winning post by the power-packed finish of Tindle. A photo finish was called and it showed that Tindle who is Scotland's top ranked under-17 100 metres athlete had won by 3/100ths of a second in 11.97s with Houten timed at 12 dead, in fact only just over 1/10th of a second seperated the first five.In the end it was the young brigade who prevailed with 16 year olds 1st and 2nd and a 17 year old in 3rd.

Many commented it had been the best New Year meeting for a number of years

Once again the second days x-ties and final were expertly covered by the team of top commentators Lee McKenzie, Derek Thomson and Gareth Topham.

For full results go to The New Year Sprint (146th New Year Sprint:

Published: 2015-01-01 21:17:53