News Archive



Despite the damp conditions the large crowd at the Bridge of Allan Highland Games witnessed some excellent competition.

 Scott Rider emerged victorious from a strong field of heavy event competitors to add the SHGA British title to the World title he won at Loch Lomond a fortnight ago.

New Year Sprint runner up Ryan Houten, Cardrona went one better on this occasion, he had to run all the way to line however to claim the £600 prize.With  a few metres to run, Martha Douglas, Jedburgh looked like making it back to back female winners only to be snared in the last stride by Houten's power-packed finish. Connor Gillon, Kelso was third. Ian McEwan,Whitemoss, Cameron Grieve, TLJT and Ben Coates, Edinburgh AC made up the final line-up.

There was Borders success in the two divisions of the Youth's 90 metres. Charlie Rae, Hawick was the victor in the 9-12 years category with Rhianna Sterricks, Leithenburn racing to victory in the older 13-15 years age-group.

All three 200 metres races produced close finishes, in the Open race, Geoff Keen,Selkirk just failed to follow up his Airth win from the previous week when he was collared close home by Leon Ali, Hawick with Ross Kirk, Kelty close up in third. Three runners flashed over the line in unison in the 12-15 years race and a blown up photo was required to determine that Sean Bates,Tullibody had edged out Keiran Halliday , Central AC and Brodie Cowan, Jedburgh.Cameron Blanche, Bridge of Allan gave the locals something to cheer by retaining his title in the 9-12 years race.

2015 New Year Sprint winner Dylan Ali Hawick won the 400 metres in impressive fashion powering through from the backmark to break the tape in 50.61 seconds from Craig Robertson,Pitreavie AC and Kobi Stevens, Moorfoot. Campbell Downie,Pitreavie and Keiran Halliday were the respective winners of the the two Youth 400 metres races.

Running from a reduced handicap for his win at St Andrews 7 days earlier, Wallace McGown, Sauchie turned in another fine performance to win the 800 metres from Willie Bates,Tullibody and Kobi Stevens. Games debutant Lewis Dow, Pitreavie AC won the 9-12 800m with Craig Angus, Leithenburn the victor in the older age group.

Another games first timer Ian Davis, Central AC was an impressive winner of the 1600 metres from Rebecca Burns Pitreavie AC and Matthew Turner,Campeltown. The latter, who currently leads the SHGA points league for distance races added more points to his tally by racing to victory from the backmark in the 3200 metres handicap from Dean Whiteford, Innerleithen and Bruce Hughes, Hawick.

Ben Coates, Edinburgh AC won the long jump with Toby Harris Edinburgh the victor in the triple jump.

Not for the first time this summer the cyclists had to endure sodden under-wheel conditions. Once again it was back marker Craig Hardie, Dalgety Bay who coped best with wins in three of the four races. After James Melville,Dumbarton had won the 800 metres handicap Hardie went on to land the 1600m, 3200m and Deil tak the Hindmost all to the delight of the appreciative big crowd.

All the results now on the results page.



Published: 2015-08-02 21:56:15