News Archive

Capital trio are New Year Sprint Backmarkers writes Shane Fenton


Edinburgh AC trio Morro Bajo[2.75m], Sam Revie[3.75m] and reigning champion Ben Robbins[4m] have been allocated the three backmarks for the 145th New Year Sprint to be run at Musselburgh Racecourse on Tuesday 31st December 2013 and 1st January 2014.

Robbins has been 'pulled' 3.5m for his £4000 win in the big race 12 months ago.
Just in front of this trio sit Anthony Daffurn, Kilbarchan AC[5m], Steven Charters, Dolphinton[5m], former winner Leigh Marshall, Hawick[5.50m] then Fife duo Francis Smith, Woodford Green[6m] and Ewan Dyer, Pitreavie AC[6.50m].

There is an entry of 13 female athletes including six times finalist and last years 3rd Gemma Nicol, Dunfermline T & F Club [15.75m], fellow Fifer Jessie Concannon, Shaftesbury Barnet AC who won the 90 metres handicap last year is off [18m].

Edinburgh AC duo Fiona Cleat and Katie Purves have been given marks of 19.5m and 19m respectively. Cleat is a former runner up.
Amy Clancy,Peebles who won on the circuit in the summer will start from the 18.50m mark.
Another interesting entry is Susan Young, Dundee Hawkhill[19.50m] she was among the medals at the recent World Masters Championships in Brazil.

The 10 heats will be run on the 31st with the 10 winners and 10 fastest losers going forward to the cross-ties and final on January 1st

The draw for the Sprint heats will take place on Monday 2nd December at Musselburgh Racecourse. Back Markers will be seeded.

Published: 2013-11-27 15:54:38