News Archive

147th New Year Sprint [Handicaps]

Reigning New Year Sprint champion Cameron Tindle, Edinburgh AC will run from the backmark of 2 metres when the heats of the 147th running of the famous race takes place at Meadowmill on Wednesday 30th December writes SHANE FENTON

Tindle has been 'pulled' 3 metres for his win on January 1st at Musselburgh Racecourse which will again be the venue for the semi finals and final of this years event.

Entries are up slightly on last year, there will be 8 heats of 7 runners and 4 heats of 8 runners. Heat winners and the 8 fastest losers will qualify for the semi-finals.

17 females are among the entries headed by Stacey Downie, Edinburgh AC who finished 4th last time, Stacey will run from a start of 17.25m, Jazmine Tomlinson, TLJT who went close to becoming the first female winner of the race with her 3rd place finish in 2015 will start from the 20 and a half metres mark.

All are welcome to attend the draw for the New Year Sprint heats which will be held at 11:30am on Tuesday 1st December at Musselburgh Racecourse.

Published: 2015-11-22 17:18:47