News Archive

Triple delight for Whiteford & Allan at Bogles Field


The weather stayed fair and once again the crowds converged on the Bogles Field for the annual Blairgowrie Highland Games.

The running events got underway with the Hill Race which was won in good style by Alex Carcas. The Edinburgh AC athlete who had won at Braemar the previous day also contested both the 1600 metres and 3200 metres races finishing runner up to Dean Whiteford,Innerleithen on both ocassions. It was a good day for Whiteford who also won the 800 metres handicap.

There was also a treble on the card for David Allan,Balloch, In the 90 metres he got up on the line to edge out Colin Bruce,Selkirk and Colin Christie,Livingston in 9.38 seconds. It was a similar story in the 200 metres with Allan just catching Craig Bell,Forfar in the last strides with Bruce in third. The latter pair swopped placings in the 400 metres as they chased home Allan who won in 52.38.

Once again the youth athletes outnumbered their open counterparts.
The Youth 90 metres was almost a replica of Birnam the week before when it was an all Leithenburn final. On this ocassion they won five of the six heats with Ben Lyall,Kelso thwarting the clean sweep. Victory in the final went to Louis Whyte who touched off his training companion Josh Landers in 9.78s, Ben Lyall finished strongly to take third place.The latter made no mistake in the 200 metres timing his run to perfection to snatch victory on the line in 22.66 from Louis Whyte and Stefan Nightingale both Leithenburn.

The only female winner on the day was Hannah Steel, the Lothian runner has performed consistently in 800 metres races this season and turned in another fine performance to win in 1:51.75, backmarker Craig Angus,Moorfoot came through to take 2nd place with Emily Antropic,Glenrothes in third. Craig Angus produced another good run from the backmark working his way through the field  to take the tape in 4:41.30. Gaspard Lecrivain,Aberdeen followed him over the line in second with Hannah Steel in third.

Six cyclists contested the four Open races on the card, the opening 800 metres was won by Paul Anderson,Perth. The remaining races the 1600m,3200m and Deil were all won by Stewart Burke,Dunfermline.

Seven competitors contested the heavy events. The 16lb and 22lb shot, 28lb and 56lb for distance as well as the Caber were all won by Lukasz Wenta. Craig Sinclair won both the 16lb and 22lb hammer contests and the 56lb over bar.

Published: 2017-09-03 22:35:52