News Archive

Successful SHGA Annual Awards Evening


report by SHANE FENTON

Athletes and cyclists who excelled on the Highland Games circuit during the summer were in Glenrothes at the weekend for the Scottish Highland Games Association annual awards dinner in the Gilvenbank Hotel.

The event was well attended with competitors from as far apart as the Highlands and Borders there to pick up awards. The Fife Highland Games Association also used the event to present their awards.

The 2016 SHGA Athlete of the Year award went to Allan Hamilton who is currently in America and wasn't present but sent a note of thanks for the recognition by the SHGA,

The Outanding Female Achievement award went to Jazmine Tomlinson[centre front in pic] who became the first female in 147 years to win he famous New Year [Powderhall] Sprint.

Other award winners were, Veteran athlete[sprints]-Cameron Smith, Veteran athlete[Distance]-Donald Bradley.

Youth Athlete[Male]-Sean Bates.Youth Athlete[Female]-Brodie Cowan.

Heavy Event Athlete-Scott Rider. Scottish Heavy Event Athlete-Lukasz Wenta.

Cyclist of the Year-Charles Fletcher. Youth Cyclist-Kyle Cartmel.

Tug of War Award-Peter McCreadie-Moffat Builders.



Published: 2016-10-24 12:19:32