News Archive


Athletes from Pitreavie AC had a field day at the Strathmore Highland Games at Glamis Castle. The Fife club won five of the races.
Scottish Internationalist Francis Smith[24m] who 24 hours previous won the 400 metres hurdles title at the Dublin Track & Field Championships in Ireland reverted to the flat at Glamis and came threw from the backmark to break the tape in 49.81 seconds.
Craig Robertson landed a double in both the 800 metres and 1600 metres handicaps, coming off the back mark in both races he had to work had for victory, in the 800 metres he[35m] got up in the shadow of the winning post to deny front marker Sam Bates Tullibody[205m] in 1.56.2, in the 1600  Robertson[55m] had to duel over the last lap with the determined Jamie Crowe Dundee Hawkhill [95m], it was only in the last 100 metres that he broke the 16 year olds resolve to cross the line in 4.32.10.
Barrie Davie[340m] continued the winning run of the Kingdom club with a runaway success in the 3200 metres handicap coming home in 10.18.91.
Making it a nap hand was Connor Morris[220m] who followed up his win at Markinch the previous week with victory in the Youth's 1600 metres handicap, Connor eventually overhauled front-marker and long time leader Hannah Stewart Lothian RC[420m] to cross the line in 4.56.85.
Earlier in the day there was a blanket finish to the Open 90 metres handicap with Central AC's Ian McDonald[9m] getting up in the last stride to snatch victory from Hayley McGurk DWF[20m] and Tony Daffrun Coatbridge[6.5m], McDonalds winning time was 10.06 seconds.
McGurk[56m] gained consolation in the Open 200 metres handicap holding on in 19.88 from the fast finishing Douglas Paul Falkirk Victoria[34m].
There was another close finish to the Youth's 90 metres with Dylan Lindsay Glenrothes[15.5] reeling in DWF duo Jenny Buchanan[15.5] and Jessie Concannon[13.5] both past New Year youth sprint winners in 10.63.
The heavies once again put on a good show for the big crowd with some keen competition, Bruce Robb emerged the overall winner but only just, he had wins in both the 16lb and 22lb shot putt as well as the 56lb for height while Craig Sinclair also had three firsts in both the 28lb and 56lb for distance and the 16lb hammer. Bruce Aitken won the 22lb hammer with Lorne Colthart winning the Caber contest which was also the Scottish Championship, he is thought to be the youngest ever winner of that title.
The final of the Scottish Tug o War Championship produced a titanic struggle between Moffat and Elgin before the latter finally prevailed.
The width of a tyre denied Thurso rider Alan Clark a clean sweep of all five cycle races on the card, Clark took the 800 metres Scottish Championship as well as the 1600 metres, 4800 metres and 5000 metres however in the 3200 metres he was caught out by the late thrust of Stirling rider Andy Turnbull who snatched victory by the shortest of margins.

Published: 2011-06-13 20:55:36