News Archive

Still all to play for in 150th New Year Sprint


t's still all to play for in the 150th New Year Sprint following the running of the heats at a windswept Meadowmill on Sunday. Only a few hundredths of a second seperate the times of the 12 heat winners and 8 fastest losers who won through to the 4 cross-ties at Musselburgh Racecourse on New Years Day..

Fastest qualifier was 2017 winner Greg Kelly,East Kilbride AC who won heat 7 in 11.25 seconds. Reigning champion Calum McWilliam also from the East Kilbride club also got through winning heat 2 in 11.40. Stacey Downie Edinburgh AC and Ian Horsburgh, Doune who have both been Scottish internationalists in the past went forward from that heat as fastest losers.

The only Fifer to advance was Billy Doyle, Pitreavie AC who stopped the clock in a speedy 11.28. The Borders challenge looks like coming from James Parker, Hawick who powered over the finish line in 11.33 to win heat 12. Two other females will join Stacey Downie to contest the x-ties with Megan Busby Bell ,Carlisle Aspatria winning heat 3 in 11.52 and Rianna Sterricks Lasswdae AC who may take all the catching from a mark of 23 metres after winning heat 9 in 11.36. Tony Daffurn Harrow AC was also impressive in winning heat 4 in 11.50. Alexander Young,Larkhall AC a finalist last year took out heat 1 in 11.44 with his namesake Douglas Young Kelso the victor in heat 8 in 11.43. A dark horse might well be Murray Blair ,Lasswade AC who won heat 5 in 11.37. Central AC veteran Cameron Smith who has appeared in 4 previous finals won heat 7 in 11.44. Completing the heat winners list is Iain McEwan a third East Kilbride AC athlete coached by Gordon Bury who took heat 11 in 11.48.

This years winner will walk away with a cheque for £8000 and Eric Liddell Memorial Trophy.

The draw for the cross-ties resulted.

X-Tie 1-1 Stacey Downie Edinburgh AC 2 Alexander Young Larkhal YM AC 3 Greg Kelly East Kilbride AC 4 Cameron Smith Central AC 5 Allesandro Schenini.Giffnock North AC.

X-Tie 2-1 Oliver Wagner, Ecclefechan 2 Iain McEwan East Kilbride AC 3 Billy Doyle Pitreavie AC 4 Douglas Young Kelso 5 Euan Urquhart VP Glasgow.

X Tie 3- 1 Ian Horsburgh Doune 2 Antony Daffurn Harrow AC 3 James Parker Hawick 4 Calum McWilliam East Kilbride AC.

X Tie 4-1 Mx Leslie Edinburgh AC 2 Megan Bursby Bell Carlisle Aspatria 3 Rianna Sterricks Lasswade AC 4 Murray Blair Lasswade AC 5 Joseph Connelly Carlisle Aspatria.

Edinburgh AC's Cameron Tindle left £750 better off after coming through from the scratch mark to snatch victory in the 90m Former winners Sprint, The 2015 winner got up on the line to edge out 1991 winner Doug Donald, Dundonald and 1989 victor Tommy Finkle Jedburgh. Daniel Paxton Hawick who won 10 years was 4th with 83 year old Tony Bowman Leeds City AC who is the oldest ever winner of the event when victorious as a 71 year old in 1976 in 5th.

The 90 metres Ladies Handicap was won by Rianna Sterricks with Cameron Smith inching home ahead of Julian Ions North East Vets to win the Veteran 90m handicap.

The Open 200 metres saw victory go to Andrea Goodman Dundee Hawkhill.

A dozen runners lined up for the Open 800 metres handicap which was won in fine style from the backmark by Ewan Dyer Pitreavie AC in 1:51.47 from veteran duo Don Bradley Inverness and Craig Bell Forfar

There was Fife success in the Youth 90 metres which was won by the Francis Smith trained Rebecca Grieve. Harris Morrison Inverclyde AC who finished runner up in the Youth 800 metres handicap 12 months ago went won better winning in 1:54.94. from Caleb McLeod Pitreavie AC and Rhuaridh Elder Alloa.

Morrison made it a double on the day with an all the way win in the Youth 13-15 200 metres. The 9-12 200 metres handicap saw Dean Patterson Larkhall YMCA AC come through from the back mark to win in 21.96.

Published: 2018-12-30 21:53:06