News Archive


Markinch Highland Games[Sunday 7th June]
The athletes who will contest the special £1000 Invitation 90 metres Sprint Handicap at this Sunday's Markinch Highland Games have been announced as well as those who will contest the Youth's, Women's and Veterans Invitation races.

The main race carries a first prize of £500 with the runner up receving £200 and the 3rd £100 with 4th,5th and 6th all rece...iving £50. The Youth's 9-15yrs race has a top prize of £100 with monetary prizes down to 7th place. Due to further sponsorhip both the Youth's and Women's races will now have 7 prizes.

All those selected to run in the special invitation races must take part in the Open 90m handicap which has a first prize of £200 All 6 heat winners of the Open 90 metres Handicap, in addition to the race prize money will receive £10 as will the winners of the Youths 90m heats.

Despite the unfortunate clash with the Hawick Games this year [only happens once every 6 years] there is a good entry for the athletic events, apart from the 4 invitation races there is Open handicaps over 90m,200m,400m,800,1600m and 3200m as well a a relay, the youth athletes have the same races as the Open apart from the 3200m and relay. All events have six prizes. The throwers will contest 7 disciplines including the 28lb Weight for Distance which saw Gregor Edmunds smash the World record at Markinch in 2011.

1 Cameron Smith Central AC 2.25M 2 Eion Lowther Jedburgh 3.25M 3 Tony Daffurn Coatbridge/Kilbarchan SCR 4 Liam Halliday Central AC 1.5M 5 David Brand Dunfermline Track & Field Club SCR 6 Greg Kelly East Kilbride AC 0.75M

1 Samantha Turnbull Peebles 18.5M 2 Kieran Halliday Central AC 7.5M 3 Callum Field East Kilbride AC 5.5M 4 Charlie Rae Hawick 24.5M 5 Natasha Turnbull Peebles 19.5M 6 Euan Smith Central AC 19.5M 7 Liam Bouglas Hawick 25M

90M WOMENS INVITATION 1Victoria Stephen Dunfermline Track & Field Club 19.5M 2 Laura McCracken VP Glasgow 16M 3 Wendy Nicol Dunfermline Track & Field Club 27.5M 4 Linsey Cooch Dunfermline 22M 5 Lauren Thomson Fife AC 18.5M 6 Sarah Bassett Whitemoss AC 18.5M 7 Sarah Ross Pitreavie AC 21.5M

90M VETERANS 1 John Bates Tullibody 28.5M 2 Geoff Keen Selkirk 13M 3 Walter Hunter Falkirk 23.5M 4 Willie Bates Tullibody 14.5m 5 David Rae Hawick 10.75m 6 Ron Sutherland Innerleithen 29m

Published: 2015-06-05 21:09:54