News Archive


Shane Fenton reports

Six former New Year Sprint winners from five different decades were among those in attendance at the Inverkeithing Highland Games on Saturday 8th August.

Jimmy Bryce then running out of Alva was the victor way back in 1956 when the race was held at Powderhall. 1964 saw Bill McLellan from East Wemyss triumph at Newtongrange, the last of the five times the race was held at that venue.

There was further Fife success in 1972 when Bert Oliver, Cowdenbeath claimed the coveted prize at Meadowbank Stadium.

Meadowbank was also the venue when Neil Turnbull,Peebles won in 1983 and Brian Mulgrew, Edinburgh in 1986.

More recently in 2012 Graeme Lister, Kirkcaldy triumphed at Musselburgh Racecourse.

Back Row L to R  Neil Turnbull, Brain Mulgrew, Bert Oliver
Front Row L to R  Bill McLellan, Jimmy Bryce, Graeme Lister

Published: 2015-08-08 22:27:58