News Archive


Despite the adverse weather the draw for the 142nd running of the New Year Sprint went ahead at Musselburgh on Wednesday.

Martyn Paterson, Clackmannan and Ewan Dyer, Pitreavie both coached by Eric Simpson came out in the first heat.

Paterson later attracted some support and was installed as the early 4/1 favourite to land the £4000 first prize in Scotland's most famous running event on New Years Day.

Former World bobsleigh champion Gillian Cooke will take time out from the European Cup circuit to make her sprint debut in the heats on 31st December.

Former winner Cumbie Bowers, Glenrothes clashes with another former winner Eric Smart, Whitley Bay and one of the Borders fancies Ross Borthwick, Hawick.

Commonwealth Games 400 metres relay runner Gemma Nicol DWF was the last name out of the draw and faces third backmarker Steven Charters, Dolphinton in heat 12.

Sprint handicapper Adam Crawford, Glenrothes missed the draw due to the weather forcing the closure of the Forth Bridge.

For full list of heats go to
Shane Fenton.

Published: 2010-12-02 13:08:48