News Archive


The chances of it being the first ever female winner of the famous New Year Sprint is very much alive.

As the wind swirled around Musselburgh Racecourse Edinburgh AC's Stacey Downie raced to the fastest qualifying time when winning the opening heat in 11. 72 seconds,joining the former Scottish champion in the 4 cross ties on New Years Day will be last years finalist Jazmine Tomlinson, TLJT who won heat 6 in 11.84s, six times finalist Gemma Nicol Dunfermlie T & F and Rachel Robertson Lasswade AC both progressed as fastest losers.

There were many impresssive performances from their male counterparts, joint backmarkers Greg Loudon Lasswade AC and Morro Bajo, Edinburgh AC also secured their place as did the impressive Cameron Tindal, Edinburgh AC.

Last years winner Dylan Ali Hawick is also in the hunt to follow up with a powerful run to win heat 9, Ali impressed again in winning the Backmarkers 110 metres Handicap from the 1.25m mark.

On a day of close finishes the destination of the 146th title is still very much in the melting pot and with the forecast of heavy rain and a strong wind  only adding to the intrigue.

The first ever Women's race at the New Year produced a 3 way photo with the verdict going to Holly McKay, Jedforest AC who was adjudged to have just held off Gemma Nicol and Rachel Robertson with many naked eyes favouring the latter, all three were given the same time.

The photo equipment was also required to determine the winner of the Youths 90m with Amy Campbell, Hawick getting the verdict.

The Open 90m was won in good style by Eion Lowther Jedburgh with Kelso's Dave McKay taking the veterans prize.

For all of today's full results and a list of tomorrow's x-ties go to

The New Year Sprint (Home)


90m Winner Interview

Amy Campbell, Hawick winner of 90m Youths Handicap (Below)

Amy Campbell Interview

Video of 90m Youth Final

Owen Miller winner of 4 Furlong Handicap (Below)

 Invitation Sprint Video

Published: 2014-12-31 19:33:58