News Archive

Inaugural Edinburgh Games



The inaugural Edinburgh Games took place on Sunday afternoon.
Despite the fine weather the crowd was fairly sparse and well spread within the yawning confines of a stadium that has seen better times and nowadays plays host more to football than athletics

The event, whether or not it's future lies at Meadowbank, certainly has potential and hopes to become full members of the SHGA in 2014.

On the competition side, there was a disappointing turn out in the Open 100 metres handicap with only 10 runners split into three heats, in contrast the Youths 100 metres had five full heats with over 30 runners. Both the Open and Youth 800 metres and 1600 metres handicaps had excellent turn outs, with the Open 1600 probably having the biggest field for a race over that distance on the games circuit this summer.

Due to other games being on North, South and elsewhere only three heavy event competitors were in action, however the crowd were privileged to see one of the leading strongmen on the circuit, Lukasz Wenta from Poland in action, he was ably backed up by Scottish duo Stuart Anderson, Lochearnhead and John Neil, Perth.

Despite the shortage of numbers the 100m final produced a close finish with Liam Halliday, Central AC, - the winner of the Airth sprint earlier in the season - overhauling frontmarkers Willie Bates Tullibody and Ronnie Hunter, Edinburgh close home.

In the 200m handicap final, backmarker Martyn Paterson Central AC surged through the 8 runner field to grab victory on the line from Billy Martin, Glenrothes and veteran Walter Hunter, Polmont.

Both the Open 800 metres and 1600 metres were boosted by a strong entry from local club Edinburgh AC who also dominated the prizes. Robert Bough[EAC] came home in front in the 800 metres ahead of club mates Adam Jack and Josh Kerr.
There was a thrilling finish to the 1600m, Dominic O'Hare - brother of Chris who ran in the recent World championship - burst 15 metres clear of the field in the back straight for the final time and looked nailed on for victory, however a storming last lap run from backmarker Craig Robertson, Pitreavie AC saw him hit the front with 30 metres to run, it still wasn't all over as metres from the line Robertson started treading water and a late lunge from O'Hare saw him snatch back the spoils in the shadow of the winning post.

There was some exciting finishes in the youth events, Rihanna Sterricks, Peebles was the victor in the 90 metres handicap while Eve Huxley, Innerleithen was a stylish winner of the 200 metres.
A field of 12 youths lined up for the youths 800 metres and were led home by Matt Dougall from the T.L.J.T club from Louis Blair, Pitreavie AC and Jason McIntosh, Kelso. The 1600m saw Corey Smith, Pitreavie AC come through from the backmark to overhaul Craig Angus, Leithenburn RC in the home straight.

Lukasz Wenta made a clean sweep of all seven heavy event disciplines with Stuart Anderson second and John Neil third.

1 Liam Halliday Central AC [10.49s]
2 Willie Bates
3 Ronnie Hunter Edinburgh

1 Martyn Paterson Central AC[21.96]
2 Billy Martin, Glenrothes.
3 Walter Hunter Polmont

1 John Fleming Kelso [12.49]
2 Willie Bates Tullibody
3 Sean Grant Innerleithen

1 Robert Bough Edinburgh AC[1:47.65]
2 Adam Jack Edinburgh AC
3 Josh Kerr Edinburgh AC

OPEN 1600M
1 Dominic O'Hare Edinburgh AC[4:09.18]
2 Craig Robertson, Pitreavie AC
3 Robert Bough Edinburgh AC

1 Rihanna Sterricks Peebles[10.53]
2 Josh Dougall TLJT
3 Bryony Paterson Leithenburn RC

1 Eve Huxley Innerleithen [21.96]
2 Nicole de Pair D.T & F.C.
3 Rihanna Sterricks Peebles

1 Matt Dougall T.L.J.T.[1:52.13]
2 Louis Blair Pitreavie AC
3 Jason McIntosh Kelso

1 Corey Smith Pitreavie AC [4:25.33]
2 Craig Angus Leithenburn RC
3 Louis Blair Pitreavie AC

16lb SHOT
1 Lukasz Wenta Poland [52' 7'']
2 Stuart Anderson Lochearnhead
3 John Neil Perth

22lb SHOT
1 Lukasz Wenta[42' 8'']
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

1 Lukasz Wenta [72' 1''
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

1 Lukasz Wenta [115' 2'']
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

1 Lukasz Wenta [93' 7'']
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

1 Lukasz Wenta [14' 00'']
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

1 Lukasz Wenta
2 Stuart Anderson
3 John Neil

Published: 2013-08-25 21:28:57