News Archive

Handicaps announced for 150th New Year Sprint

150th New Year Sprint preview by Shane Fenton

Ahead of the heats draw on the 5th December, promoter Frank Hanlon has released the handicaps for the 150th running of the 110 metres New Year Sprint handicap.
The Sesquicentennial Anniversary sees prize money for all eight finalists doubled with the victor carrying off a cheque for £8000.

Uninterrupted by war or weather the event has taken place with unbroken continuity since 1870.

This years race has attracted an entry of 79 runners well up on last years all-time low of 62. 6 former winners are in the line up, one of them, Cameron Tindle, TLJT who won in 2015 is this years backmarker and will run from a start of 2.5 metres. Ahead of him on the 5.5 metres mark is 2017 winner Greg Kelly,East Kilbride AC along with Sandy Wilson,Edinburgh AC. Jordan Spence, Corby AC is one of a number of English challengers and he will react to the starters pistol from the 6 metres mark.Reigning champion Calum McWilliam has been penalised 1.5 metres for his win on January 1st and will start from 8.25 metres.

 16 female athletes are in the line up all hoping to emulate the win of Jazmine Tomlinson in 2016, as yet, the only female winner in the history of the race.
Edinburgh AC trio Christabel Antwi, Sarah Malone and StaceyStacey Downie along with Robyn Taylor,VP Glasgow are the lowest handicapped female entrants all on the 20 metres mark.

Heats of the New Year Sprint along with all supporting events will take place on Sunday 30th December at the Meadowmill Sports Centre with the semi-finals and final of the New Year Sprint at Musselburgh Racecourse on 1st January 2019.

Published: 2018-12-01 21:31:08