News Archive


Newburgh Highland Games in it's second year at it's new Robbie's Park venue enjoyed it's biggest entry of athletes and cyclists for a number of years, with entrants from as far apert as Carlisle in the South and Thurso in the North, athletes also made the journey from Inverness, Hawick, Cambeltown and Oban.

The Games staged two Scottish Championships in cycling, the Open 4800 metres and the Youth's 800 metres. The Open Championship saw many riders still in contention right up to the last lap before it developed into a dual between Tim Allan,Glenrothes and Thurso's Alan Clark, it was the Fife rider who prevailed coming home a bike length clear of his Northern rival.
It turned out to be a good day for Allan who went on to land a treble with later wins in the 3200 metres Handicap and Deil tak the Hindmost events.
In the shorter races Brendan Roe raced to victory in the 800 metres with Stuart McManus from Glasgow taking the 1600 metres Handicap.
The Youth's Championship was won in good style by Stuart McCluskey from Strathaven, who also won the Youth's 1600 metres Handicap.
The Youth's 800 metres Handicap saw Etien Sadeghpoor from Dalgety Bay win his first ever race on the Games circuit.
There was a marvellous entry for the running events, the Open 90 metres saw victory go to Lothian Running Club's Darren Thomson who had been runner up in the same event at the recent Markinch Games.
There was a blaket finish to the Open 200 metres with Willie Bates ,Tullibody hitting the tape inches ahead of Alan Brown,Edinburgh and Daniel Paxton,Hawick. Brown went one better in the Open 400 metres getting up from the backmark to pip Matthew Turner,Cambeltown and Kevin Kane, Inverclyde
A big field of 16 went to post for the Open 800 metres and it saw Lothian Running Club triplet Mhairi Inglis one of only two females in the race doggedly hold of the late thrusts of all challengers to break the tape in 1m 51.66s.
Another big field lined up for the Open 1600 metres which was stylishly won by backmarker Kevin Kane, Inverclyde who worked his way through the pack to overhaul eventual runner up Owen Millar DWF with 150 metres to run with Alan Brown closing fast in third. Kane's winning time was 4m 18.00s.
There was another photo finish in the Youth's 90 metres with Douglas Paul DWF just hanging on to edge out backmarker Craig Bell with 10 year old Hannah Stewart Blackburn in third. The placing's were reversed however in the Youth's 200 metres with Bell snaring Paul near the line.
The Youth's 800 metres again saw Douglas Paul race to victory with the Youth's 1600 metres being won by Kathryn Pennel Pitreavie AC.
The only disappointment on the day was in the turn out for the Heavy events, however the trio that did turn up put on a good show for the crowd with overall winner being Jason Young from Tain ahead of Malky Cleghorn, Strathpeffer and Al Lordie from Switzerland who added an international flavour to the day.
The tremendous turn out's for the track events.

Published: 2009-06-23 08:29:03