News Archive

Competition hot at sunny Oban writes Shane Fenton

Mossfield Park in Oban was bathed in warm sunshine for the annual Lorne Highland Games. Since the beginning of the season nearly all games have enjoyed good weather and more importantly increased entry numbers for the track and field events and that theme continued on Sunday.

It was encouraging to see good numbers taking part in the various Youth events throughout the afternoon.
The 90 metres was run off in five heats in two age-groups. There was a local first three in the 9-12 years race with Oban trio Kyle Cooper,Ellen McCrae and Ellie McInnes first over the line. The older 12-15 years race saw Gaspard Lecrivain,Aberdeen AC just getting up to edge out Sean Bates,Tullibody and Zak Vince,Glencoe.

The Open 90 metres handicap saw Tony Daffurn,Airdrie retain his title, he was made to run hard all the way to the line however to reel in runner up David McGlaughlin,Oban and third placed David Allan,Balloch. There was a reversal of the first two in the Open 200 metres handicap with McGlaughlin all out to hold off the late surge of Daffurn with Ewan Schilk of Nuremberg in third.
The 13-15 years 200 metres saw backmarker Jack Gillespie,Lochgilphead come through the field impressivly from the back mark to thwart Gaspard Lecrivain and Sean Bates. The 9-12 years race was won by Finlay McLean,Oban.

Ewen Bradley ,Inverness had a good day in the middle distance races winning both the Open 400 metres and 800 metres handicaps. In the 800m he came home ahead of David Allan and Willie Bates,Tullibody. Allan had to settle for the runners up spot again in the 400m with David McGlaughlin in third place.
Ellen McCrae,Mull led hom a big field of runners to win the Youth's 400m from Morgam Gemmell,Oban and Steven Bates,Tullibody.

Campeltown Running Club's Drew Dutton turned in a good performance to win from the backmark in the Open 1600 metres, Alan Mollins, Dunoon and Jennifer Martin also from the Campbeltown club filled the minor berths. The Youth's 1600 metres was one of the races of the day with Gaspard Lecrivain out-battling both Sean Bates and Ewan Dowd,Oban to land the spoils.

The Boys and Girls 90 metres scratch races were won by Jake Gillespie and Amy Gibson,Mull repectively with the scratch 600 metres victors being Gaspard Lecrivain and Ellen McCrae.

Not for the first time, Tom Smith,Oban was the winner of the Hill Race, first female finisher was Eilidh Shearer,Oban with Ellis Hunter,Taynuilt and Abbie Cato,Mull the leading boy and girl.

As ever the heavy event competitors thrilled the crowds, Lukasz Wenta,East Kilbride was the overall winner with wins in the 16lb and 22lb shot putt, 28lb weight for distance, 56lb weight over the bar and Caber, Kyle Randalls Grangemouth who finished runner up in all five of these disciplines landed a double with wins in both the 16lb and 22lb hammer competitions.Local competitor Murdo Masterson, Dunbeg who finished in third place in all seven events was the overall winner of the under-20 competition.
In the jumping competitions Tony Daffurn continued his fine start to the season with wins in the High,Long and Triple Jump.

Published: 2018-06-25 00:22:20