News Archive

147th New Year Sprint [X - Ties preview]



1 CRAIG BRUCE-[SELKIRK] Won 1st heat in 11.87 seconds

Strong and powerful athlete, qualified impressively and should be in the shake up for a place in the final. Regular competitor on the grass tracks of the Borders & Highland Games circuits so ground will pose no problems.

2 EMILY DAGG-[EDINBURGH AC] Won heat 10 in 12.03seconds.

The 17 year old finished runner up in the 90 metres handicap on the all weather surface on Wednesday her chances today could depend on how she handles the change in underfoot conditions.

3 JAZMINE TOMLINSON-[T.L.J.T] Won heat 4 in 11.79 seconds.

Won what was dubbed the 'Heat of Death' in some style, a close up third in last years final and looks in tip top shape as she bids to re-write the record books by attempting to become the first ever female winner of the historic race.

4 CHARLIE CARSTAIRS-[LASSWADE AC] Won heat 12 in 11.93 seconds

Well suited to competing on all surfaces, as proved on the summer highland games circuit where he recorded wins at Inverkeithing and Perth on cinders & grass. Will make a bold bid to reach the final.

5 CAMERON SMITH-TULLIBODY-Fastest loser from heat 4 in 11.87 seconds.

One of 3 fastest losers who qualified from heat 4, veteran Smith is no stranger to New Year Sprint finals, he has already appeared in four but victory has so far eluded him.will this be his year.


1. CALLUM McWILLIAMS GIFFNOCK NORTH AC-Won heat 2 in 11.85 seconds.

A good winner of his heat, the former middle-distance man changed to sprinting during the summer and was rewarded by winning the 90 metres at the Airth Games. On heat running could make the final.

2. DOUG DONALD OAKHAM-Fastest loser from heat 5 in 12.01 seconds.

Donald, now a veteran won the race 25 years ago when it was held at Meadowbank Stadium. The Anglo Scot from Oakham in the East Midlands travels up every year to contest the race and will be delighted to have reached the semi final stage.

3. KIERAN REILLY LASSWADE AC Won heat 11 in 11.76 seconds

Comes into the semi finals in fine form with an impressive run in his heat on Wednesday he followed that up by racing to victory in the Open 90 metres handicap so confidence will be high for a good showing today.

4. CAMERON TINDLE EDINBURGH AC Fastest loser from heat 5 in 12.00 seconds

Reigning champion Tindle at only 17 years of age is currently Scotland's fastest man and has already represented his country and has a great future in front of him. He will need to be at the top of his game to retain his title. This has been achieved only once in the 147 year history of the race when Glasgow's Willie McFarlane won back to back races in the early 1930's.

5. STEVEN PARK-EDINBURGH Won heat 9 in 12.50 seconds

On his heat time a lot to do to make the final. Only retutned to competitive action in the summer following a number of years away from the sport.


1 CRAIG SOWERBY SEATON AC Won heat 3 in 12.24

The Englishman has been a consistent performer over the years, he reached the final 12 months ago finishing in 6th place. A bit to find on time but sure to make a bold in his attempt to reach successive finals.

2 KEVIN WILSON KELTY Fastest loser from heat 4 in 12.10 seconds.

Wilson is the only Fife hope left in the race, only returned to the sport in the summer following a long absence, reaching the final would be a bonus for the one time top youth athlete.

3 RYAN HOUTEN CARDRONA Winner of heat 5 in 11.46 seconds

Last years runner up turned in an impressive performance to record the fastest qualifying time in Wednesday's heats and was immediately installed as the ante-post favourite. Showed his credentials in the summer by taking the £600 prize in the 90m handicap at Bridge of Allan Games. On form and looking to go one better this year.

4 LEON ALI HAWICK Won heat 7 in 11.85 seconds.

Looked strong in winning his heat and fancied by some to emulate his brother Dylan who won the race two years ago. Loads of experience on the turf from his exploits on the Borders Games circuit.

5 SARAH MALONE EDINBURGH AC Fastest loser from heat 5 in 11.94 seconds.

One of five female hopefuls who made the semi finals, all her best form has been shown on the all-weather tracks. Ranked 9 in Scotland over 100m for women.If adapting to the change of surface she could go well but similar to her heat she comes up against the in-form Houten, but could make the final.

6 GREG KELLY EAST KILBRIDE Fastest loser from heat 12 in 11.94seconds.

Has had a consistent season amongst the seniors on the grass tracks of the highland games and won a £500 prize in an invitation 90metres at Markinch and also won the Stirling Games sprint.


1. SANDY WILSON EDINBURGH AC Won heat 6 in 12.32

His qualifying time suggests he has a bit to find, a promising youngster, the best of his form however has been on the all weather tracks for his club Edinburgh AC.

2. HOPE ROBERTSON LOCKERBIE Fastest loser from heat 12 in 11.94 seconds.

Has done well to reach the semi finals but probably needs to better her qualifying time to progress further.

3. JORDAN CHARTERS DOLPHINTON Won heat 5 in 11.58secs

Better known as one of Scotland's top ranked long jumpers Charters is also very speedy on the track as he showed in his heat where he qualified as the second fastest on the day behind Houten. If he can replicate that run he should make the final.

4. MARTIN BARR EAST KILBIDE AC Fastest loser from heat 5 in 12.09 seconds.

A consistent middle marker on the Highland Games circuit Barr will have been happy to reach this stage, plenty of experience running on the grass.

5. STACEY DOWNIE EDINBURGH AC Fastest loser from heat 8 in 12.08.

Former National 200m champion and a Scottish internationalist, Downie has been a consistent performer at a high level over the past decade. Her early career on the border & highland games circuit stood her in good stead last year where she reached the final finishing in 4th place.Won't go down without a fight.

Published: 2015-12-31 19:16:05