News Archive


Scotland's fastest man Nick Smith thrilled the big crowd at Saturday's Birnam Highland Games by racing to victory in the Scottish 100 yards Championship and then later in the afternoon he also won the Open 90 metres Handicap.

The Aberdour man was fast out the blocks and quickly opened up a gap on the field before breaking the tape at 9.80 seconds, Stephen Charters who took the Scottish 90 metres title earlier in the month at Perth Games came home in second place with last weekend's Crieff sprint winner Cameron Smith in third.

In the handicap race Smith who was running from the scratch mark and giving away starts of up to 23 metres only qualified from his heat in second place.
In the six runner final however he powered through from the backmark to snatch victory in the shadow of the winning post from John Paxton Hawick[14m] and 16 year old Euan Dyer[8.5] Pitreavie AC in a time of 9.65 seconds.

The Open 200 metres Handicap produced a close finish with Lee Goodfellow from the Tweed Leader Jed Track club edging out veteran Davie Grieve from Hawick and Craig Gillan also TLJT.

It was a Pitreavie AC clean sweep in the Open 400 metres Handicap with Euan Dyer from a start of 20 metres holding off his club mates Michael Burns [11m] and Craig Robertson [10m] in a time of 50.36.
 Ross Mathieson Lasswade AC was an impressive winner of the SHGA 800 metres Scottish Championship, the 16 year old in his first year in Open competition was soon in command and had the race won coming off the final bend before going on to snap the worsted in 2:03.50 with Colin Welsh Kelso in second and Robert Inglis Lothian RC in third.

After a few near misses in recent weeks Craig Bell Forfar eventually got his head in front in the 800 metres Handicap, making good use of his 85 metres start to hold off the late challenges of Michael Burns[27.5m] and Craig Robertson[15m] in third.

The Open 1600 metres also went to a frontmarker with Trevor Johnstone Airdrie [215m] leading virtually all the way to come home ahead of Owen Millar DWF[80m] with Scottish MV50 1500 metres Champion John Thomson Coaltown of Balgonie[130m] in third.

The Youth's 100 yards Championship was won by John Glen TLJT in 10.71 ahead of DWF duo David Brand and David Allan.

Mhairi Henderson TLJT took the Youth's 200 metres with Jack Stanners Selkirk and Iain Horsburgh Lothian RC claiming the Youth's 800 metres and 1600 metres Handicaps respectively.
Craig Hrdie Dalgety Bay landed a treble in the cycling with wins in the 800metres,3200metres and Deil with Brendan Roe taking the 1600 metres.
In the heavy events David Dowson Middlesbrough emerged as the overall champion on the day.

Published: 2010-08-30 11:55:38